Board & Governance

People support decisions they help to make, and Cornell Cooperative Extension believes strongly in shared leadership through locally elected Boards of Directors and active program development committees.

Cornell Cooperative Extension Schoharie and Otsego Counties is governed by a 12 member Board of Directors that consists of 12 elected community volunteers; 2 voting members appointed by the Schoharie County Board of Supervisors, and Otsego County Board of Representatives and a representative from Cornell University.  It includes people from towns throughout Schoharie and Otsego Counties who bring their knowledge of community needs and concerns to the governance of this organization. Our board sets policy, hires staff, prioritizes educational programs and works with Extension's educational staff to ensure program effectiveness. 

Program Committees for each of our Program areas guide the direction of the workshops, classes,and other services that we offer the residents of Schoharie and Otsego Counties, and review the effectiveness of our efforts.  Our programs have evolved over the years to reflect changes in values, ethics, community norms, family structures, mobility, and the economy in direct response to this grassroots community involvement. 

Cornell Cooperative Extension of Schoharie and Otsego Counties is delighted to have active and diverse Board of Directors and Program Committees, which are key to achieving strong and meaningful community impacts!  If, as you read more about how we are governed, you believe you have a contribution to make to our programming as a volunteer, please get in touch!  We welcome your input and ideas!

Last updated March 27, 2014